Yummy Treats :P

TREATS!!!!!!!!!!! TREATS!!!!!!!!!!! TREATS!!!!!!!!!!! 

All hammies love treats, love’em too much that I have to give them in moderation 😀 Most popular treats among ham lovers would be mealworm and sunflower seed that are orgasmically love by hamsters. But they are equally sinful, too much sunflower seed and mealworm can lead to obesity and health complication.

Various veggies can be devour by hamsters too. Before that, you really need to check out the safe veggies list for ham(s). My fav treats are nuts ,egg and veggies because they are yummy and nutritious . Currently I am sticking to walnut and cashew nut. For veggie , mostly they have to share with me.Although I love fruits, don’t really wish to give them because the sucrose and fructose can be lead to diabetic in hamsters, especially dwarfie like my gals.

I list some safe and unsafe veggies and fruits 🙂

FRUITS

  • Apple (seedless)
  • Banana
  • Blackberries
  • Blueberries
  • Cantaloupe.
  • Cherries
  • Cranberries
  • Grapes(seedless)
  • Lychee
  • Mango
  • Melon
  • Peaches (no stone)
  • Plums (no pits)
  • Raspberries
  • Raspberry Leaves (helpful for diarrhea)
  • Strawberries

VEGGIES

  • Asparagus
  • Bean Sprouts
  • Bok Choy
  • Broccoli
  • Cabbage (Limited amounts)
  • Carrots
  • Cauliflower
  • Celery
  • Chard
  • Chestnuts
  • Chickweed
  • Chicory
  • Clover
  • Corn on the Cob
  • Cucumbers
  • Dandelion Leaves
  • Endive
  • Green Beans
  • Kale
  • Parsnips
  • Peas
  • Radicchio
  • Romaine Lettuce
  • Spinach
  • Squash
  • Sweet Potatoes
  • Sweet bell Peppers
  • Swiss Chard
  • Turnip
  • Water Chestnuts
  • Water Cress
  • Zucchini
  • FOODS TO AVOID

    • Almonds
    • Apple Seeds
    • Canned food
    • Chocolate
    • Candies
    • Chips and Junk food
    • Pork Products
    • Potatoes (Raw)
    • Raw Kidney Beans
    • Eggplant
    • Fool’s Parsley
    • Grape Seeds
    • Avocado (Contains Cardiac Glycosides)
    • Raw Rhubarb
    • Tomato leaves
    • Oranges or Tangerines(no citrus fruits)
    • No watermelon (the water content is high causes diarrhea)
    • Cherry Stone
    • Peach Stone & Leaves
    • Apricot Stone
    • Lemon or Lime
    • Jams and jellies
    • Spices
    • Garlic
    • Onions
    • Leeks
    • Scallions
    • Chives
    • Pickles

Note:  I believe there will be more on these list, more knowledgeable ham lover would know for sure. But I only stick to what I know for sure and safe 🙂

Let me share about some of my Yummy Treats!

Popcorn

Plain dog biscuit, this should be plain without any flavor. One of my fav treats because it really hard and that will grind down their incisors(front teeth, that can become problem if they are too long )

Papaya Fruit Extract, that is beneficial for their digestive tracts.

Spinach bowl . I bought two cute glass bowl from Daiso, it in cute fish shape and very pretty. One day, clumsy me break them into pieces T.T no more

My own recipes: lettuce, dry shrimp and crush cashew nuts. One the side notes, lettuce are not very recommended for ham(s) because they are just water and no real nutrient. Too much can be lead to diarrhea especially to the ones that are not very familiar with having veggies as daily treats. But moderation is the key and can be good for rehydration in a hot weather like Singapore.

Ke Ke and her obsession of carrying Carefresh around LOL

Red Millet Spray. My gals love it and Scabber is not really a big fan of Millet.

              My old packets of dry meal worm and milk chewy are already finished liao. Scabber don’t even touch meal worm while the gals are batshit crazy about them. I don’t believe in feeding live meal worm , so I just bought dry packet. Currently cut out those treats because I find them not exactly the best choice of treats.

                     Fresh veggies are good, but never forget to clean out old veggie pieces lying around in their tanks or their secret stash. For me, I don’t really like to give them veggies bowl for too long. Once I saw them eat their fill, I take out the bowl. Rotten veggies can be very harmful, dirty and stinky.De De and Ke Ke can be real greedy come to food, but they don’t really like to hide their food. Scabber on the other hand is very choosy and nibble eater but he have bad habit of hiding veggie .Look at his well hidden cauliflower piece in the hideout LOL He can’t fool me 😀

Leave a Reply

September 2011
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
